Things I love about Osaka

This morning, my dad and I strolled the streets of Fukushima for the last bakery and coffee run I’ll probably ever have in the city. It is a massive blessing, really, to do this–to be with my family, witness the shimmering sunset skyline, eat Snoopy donuts, plow through a ten-course tempura meal, and toast to Christmas with Americanos. I feel like I’ve been handed a rare gift.

I’ve also realized that the presence of God pulses within Japan as well. My parents’ church is a small house church with one piano and a meeting place in a samurai exhibit, but their reverent worship reveals their joy in the Lord. There’s something about hearing the English songs that I’ve sung all my life in a different language that pulls at my heartstrings dearly. So not only have I experienced Japan in an urban landscape, living as a city dweller, but I have also experienced Japan as a place where God dwells.

Here’s a short photo gallery of what I’ve been doing during the break! P.S. Did you know that the secret to the fluffiness of Japanese pancakes is MAYONNAISE?

dsc01616-2dsc01608-2dsc01623-2dsc01564-2dsc01580-2dsc01577-2foodscape2dsc01604-2dsc01557-2dsc01626-2

To sum it all up: coffee, crepes outside of a twelve-story electronics store, the view from my family’s apartment, pancakes (and a pancake souffle!), and the most beautiful mottled lines of fat from wagyu beef for shabu shabu (hot pot).

Cheers! -Melody

Leave a Reply

