Texan Burger Culture.

I’ve finally scavenged the time to blog! Sophomore year has been crazy but thank the Lord for midterm recess. SERIOUSLY.

Nevertheless, I’ve been able to eat delicious grub in the past couple of months! Although grades and life may waver, the foodie in me never does. And nor does coffee. Or Jesus. So yes, I’ve been sustained thus far, and let’s hope that it continues that way.

It’s allllll about meat in this post. Servery meat is either a hit or miss, so to be able to eat real meat at all this year has been a treat in itself. The quest for Melody to become a Texan has continued. And yes, I’ll admit that I appreciate the way Texans cook their meat. Meat cooking/grilling/boiling/sauteeing/braising/barbecuing/everything else under the sun is like an art in Texas.

The restaurant featured today is Stomp’s Burger Joint, where it reigns in Kemah, Texas. It showcases the humble American hamburger in all styles, as well as a wide range of other options from salads to rattlesnake eggs. And apparently this place has quite a solid reputation. It looked like a slightly dilapidated barn on the outside but it did boast a welcoming veranda and rocking chairs. Inside, the place was packed with picnic style tables seating swarms of customers.

What amused me the most were the fantastic burger names. “Texas Tumble Weed”, “Jezzabelle”, and “Honkey Tonk” were just a few of my favorites. But I felt a special bond to the ‘Yippy Ki Yay” burger, and it was definitely not because of how it sounded similar to my last name. Oh please, I already knew I’m a celebrity.

The Yippy Ki Yay was served with simple presentation, a mouthwatering hunk of meat stabbed through with a knife. Imagine how much the fun the chef must have, stabbing burgers all day. Anyways, this choice was a juicy Angus-certified beef patty slathered with an ingenious sauce blend of barbecue, ranch, and cheddar cheese. Shreds of lettuce, slices of tomato, and mayonnaise were the finishing touches. Freshly toasted bread staggered under the weight of the whole stack of flavors. Imagine taking that first bite–’twas like an explosion of richness and meat flooding my mouth all at the same time, mayonnaise and sauce going everywhere. But while I thought I was wolfing down my burger rapidly, the guys at my table were definitely scarfing down theirs with much more gusto. It was impressive.

pickerimage

I also ordered sides of onion rings and sweet potato fries, fresh out of the fryer and delightfully crisp. The onion rings were colossal, like Walla Walla onion dimensions, and the sweet taters balanced out the heavy meat flavors very nicely. Can’t believe I’ve been missing out on the burger culture here–Texas does have its perks. And…..shoutout to Redneck Hu.

http://www.stompsburgerjoint.com/menu.html

Leave a Reply

